All about Jennifer

Hello I am Jenny-Jennifer and I am 27 years old.
I started November 15th 2018.
I have been going to the farm for 1 year and 5 months.
I have learnt a lot of new things at the farm. I am a lot more confident with the chickens since we moved to the new farm. It is amazing there. I love it on the farm.
It is my favourite place to go to.
I love collecting the eggs, helping with different tasks, jobs that need doing.
The staff Laura, Nic, Carl, Dee, Kirean, Robin, are amazing and they are excellent at what they do.
They are very helpful as they are always there for me if I am worried about something and they are a great support.
I have found the best and amazing place to go to where they understand.
I look forward to it every Thursday to work with such amazing people and the animals.
I go to the farm every Thursday I feed the animals- Chickens, Rabbits, Guinea pigs, Goats, Ducks.
I have help and support when I do the goats because it gets muddy and slippery in the fields.
I have made an eggs box on wheels to keep the eggs safe. I enjoyed making that.
I Poo Picked the nest box in the chicken pen.
I also helped to plant some vegetables and some flowers.
My favourite animals are the chickens especially Jen The Hen. I love chicks, ducklings and I love the animals at the farm.
Since I have been on lockdown I have been enjoying chatting on Zoom to the farm people and friends.
I have been knitting a blanket for Smartie the cat. I have been making Pom-Pom Animals.
I have been enjoying doing the Activity Farm Book.

Our Services

Speech & Language Support

Speech & Language Support

Speech & Language Support

We do, of course, welcome verbal and non-verbal Co-Farmers. Makaton is used at the farm where needed, and communication boards with PECS or photographs are also available. Able Hands aims to be a centre of excellence for communication.

Promoting Independance

Promoting Independance

Promoting Independance

With 20 years experience enabling the independence of adults with learning difficulties, the staff at Able Hands will ensure that Co-Farmers are learning new skills that will be transferable to their home and social life.

Positive Risk Taking

Positive Risk Taking

Positive Risk Taking

Able Hands aims to enable Co-Farmers to become as independent as possible. The farm environment provides the perfect opportunity to take positive risks in a safe, supervised situation.

Our Little World

Our little world

Our little world

Browse through our unique photo and video gallery of life on the farm and our Co-Farmers at work. We update this regularly, so be sure to come back! We also have a YouTube channel called Able Hands Together, be sure to subscribe to our channel for updates on our videos.